Nuno Neves, Sara Silva, and Francisco M. Couto top researchers at

Date: 19/04/2024

LASIGE integrated researchers Nuno Neves, Sara Silva, and Francisco M. Couto are featured in the 2024 edition of ranking of the best scholars in the discipline of Computer Science. is a platform that provides information to scientists about the quality of scientific forums such as conferences and journals, as well as institutions. It also provides a list of the best scientists, ranked by their D-index which takes into account only publications and citation data for an examined discipline, compiled from various bibliometric data sources. The metrics for h-index, citations, awards, and publications presented in the 2024 edition (the 10th) of this ranking were last updated on November 21, 2023. The ranking is based on a thorough examination of 166,880 scholars discovered from a variety of bibliometric data sources. For the area of Computer Science, more than 27337 scientists were analysed. The approval factors for scientists to be considered for the ranking of top scholars are based on the D-index, the proportion of the publications made within the given discipline, in addition to the awards and achievements of the scholars.

The 10th edition of the ranking of the best scholars in the field of Computer Science features Nuno Neves for the second time in a row, ranked 23rd among the top 40 Portuguese scientists in the computer science field, and Francisco M. Couto and Sara Silva for the first time, ranked 33rd and 39th, respectively. With 40 scientists Portugal ranks in spot 26 in the world.

In addition, the 10th edition of ranking of the best universities in the discipline of Computer Science features the University of Lisbon in the 153th position (a clear improvement from last year’s 189th position) out of 1189 institutions globally. The University of Lisbon continues to be the top-ranked Portuguese institution in this rank. The list of the best researchers from the Computer Science field affiliated with the University of Lisbon features, once again, Nuno Neves in the 11th position out of the 19 best and, for the first time, Francisco M. Couto and Sara Silva in the 16th and the 19th position, respectively.